Dressed in black...

I went to see Nitzer Ebb and Depeche Mode last night at the Ericsson Globe Arena. I thought it was ok. The volume at the arena is a bit strange. I've never been to a concert at that place before. There was this lack of heavy bombastic beats and the experience was a bit lowered by the fact I'm no longer this hardcore Depeche Mode fan. I've already said enough about my impression of their latest release.

Nitzer Ebb kicked off by doing Murderous! That was a pretty good opening song, I think. We got Shame, Lightning Man, Control, I'm here and a few newer songs too. I would have liked Join in the chant too. Still, you can't have it all.

Depeche Mode kicked off by doing In chains. From the new album. Enough said. I went for a piss during Wrong. That song is just... Wrong? I know people like it, however, I don't. I shouldn't say anything really. I've never written anything close to that anyway. Still, I'm a fan, and I'm entitled to speak my mind. I've said it before, I think Martin L Gore SHOULD feel the urge and pressure to write songs for an album. The fact that Dave got a few songs on the album isn't that great. Peace is probably the worst singel, ever to be released by any band of all time. Still, they did put on a good show. The sing-a-long after Dressed in black sent shivers down my spine. That was awesome.

HOWEVER... After the final song, the lights were still off, and after about a minute, they band came up on stage for the encore. They did three or four songs, and then they said goodbye again. The light were still all black, and we were hoping for another song perhaps. After about one minute, all the light were lit, and the anticlimax came over us like a wave of cold water. They shouldn't have waited for so long. Not very professional, I think. Do not lead us into false hope, please.

I met the guys from The Mobile Homes and Sami Sirviö of Kent. I also noticed Anto Corbijn in the audience just by the mixing console.

I should have gone with Dupont, Spetznas and Lowe to the afterparty where they hung out with Nitzer Ebb after the show. I got a severe headache, and I decided to go home instead.

It was a good night. It was also freezing cold when I walked home.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback