Mission: The Smiths. Status: Completed!

Ok, so I've spent my last money on even more records. Well, a few was missing from my The Smiths collection, and now the task has been completed. I guess it's only The world won't listen, but hey, you can't have it all now, can you.

Me and Mattias went by Leicester Square today. The whole park area was off limits. There were big screens showing promotional pics from the upcomming Spider-Man 3 movie. We also went to HMV, and there was a lot of kids outside. We didn't get it, until we went from the second floor down to the first. There was a band signing autographs. What band? Well, I didn't recognize any of them. But there was a lot of people wearing Lost Prophets tee's so I guess it was Lost Prophets! I have no idea. I've seen the name, but I don't think I've ever heard a track. Tomorrow, well, rather today, me and Jo are going somewhere for lunch. I guess we'll go to Brent Cross again. That was a nice place. AND we're also going to Tesco. I'm gonna get REAL money, not just coins! ;) I also hope my guitar cases I bought from Thomann is on it's way now. £35 each. Plus another ?10 for shipping. Not too bad at all...

I just hope I hear something from the folks in Stockholm. I'm moving in approx 40 days. Still don't know anything really.
Fingers crossed, right? :)

Yesterday, the London marathon took place. It was said it was the hottest marathon ever. 23 C! That's not too warm. However, there was a lot of people who didn't finish. And one man even died. That's horrible. One guy dressed as Indiana Jones, complete with a big boulder rolling after him finished 22 hours after he started! Hmm, the Bravery is doing a gig tomorrow night. Perhaps? Or Einstürzende Neubauten? Hmmm...

I also read things that has never been said.

Charles Darwin invented the theory of evolution, right? And the druids built Stonehenge? Not according to University of East London academic John Radford. His new book, Don't believe it: Some things everybody knows that actually ain't so, aims to do for general knowledge what eats, shoots and leaves for grammar. The professor says many myths and phrases attributed with famous people are just that. -Myths! The book says Stonehenge was built between 3500 and 1500 BC, while the druids arrived in Britan between 800 and 600 BC. A few phrases:

Some surprises...

*Beam me up, Scotty!
FACT: "Beam me up, Mr Scott" was the closest Captain James T Kirk of star trek came to saying the immortal words wrongly attributed to him.

*Nice guys finish last!
FACT: This remark is said to have been made by Leo Durocher, manager of the New York Giants baseball team in 1946. What he really said was: "The nice guys are over there, in seventh place."

*Ya dirty rat!!
FACT: James Cagney never said this. The closest he came was: "Mmm, that dirty, double-crossin' rat!" in 1931 film Blond crazy.

But the best thing I read in todays free papers was about the tubedrivers!

Train chiefs have given their drivers new guidelines to stop the blabbering on. Some people get very annoyed by listening to them... You know, Mind the gap and so on...  There are some very funny drivers out there. And I for one would like to hear more of that instead of complete silence. Ok, the automated voice can be annoying. But if you're like me, half alseep on the tube, it's kinda nice to have a voice telling you what station you're at. And what the next stop is going to be.

A few things overheard in the tube said by driver! I love this! :D

* "The Bakerloo line is running normally today, so you may expect delays to all destinations..."

* "I am the captain of your train, and we will be departed shortly. We will be cruising of an altitude of approximately zero feet..."

* "Please let the passengers of the train... Let the passenger OFF the train FIRST! Oh, go on then... Stuff yourselves in like sardines. See if I care. I'm going home..."

* Do you want the good news first, or the bad news first? The good new is last friday was my birthday and I hit the town and had a great time. The bad news is that there is a point failure somewhere between Stratford and East Ham, which means we will probably not reach our destination..."

* "All stations to Upminster with the exception of Cannon Street, which does not stop there on Saturdays, due to... a total lack of interest!"

* "Ladies and gentlemen. I do apologize for the delay to your service. I know you're all dying to get home, unless of course you happend to be married to my ex-wife, in which case you'll want to cross over to the westbound and go in the opposite direction..."

I think they should hire funny tubedrivers. The tuberides would be so much more fun! :)

Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

Håller med dig helt. Det borde finnas ett humorkrav på t-baneförare. Om jag inte tyckte att det var läskigt med mörka tunnlar så hade det ju varit ett jobb för mig att få utlopp för lite crazyness på när radiojobbet tar slut.
/islatte

2007-04-26 @ 00:36:37

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback